Each year, the existing members of the HOTCUS steering committee stand down. The vacant positions are then subject to a new nomination and – if necessary, election – process.

All HOTCUS members are eligible to nominate themselves for all positions on the committee. Their nomination application form (available here) must be seconded by another HOTCUS member, and submitted to the committee secretary, Tom Tunstall Allcock ([email protected]), by 5:00pm, Friday 17 May 2019. Where ballots are required, they will take place online between 22 May and 1 June 2019. The new committee will then be presented to the membership at the HOTCUS AGM on Thursday 13 June 2019 at the annual conference at Liverpool John Moores University.

The eight committee positions are:

  • Chair (1-year term)
  • Vice-Chair (1-year term)
  • Committee Secretary (1-year term)
  • Treasurer (1-year term)
  • Membership Secretary (1-year term)
  • Events Secretary (1-year term)
  • Early Career Secretary (1-year term)
  • Postgraduate Secretaries x2 (2-year terms for those currently registered as PhD students)

This year two committee members will not be seeking re-election:

  • The Membership Secretary (Joe Merton)
  • One Postgraduate Secretary (Mark Eastwood)

Nominations are especially encouraged for these two vacant positions.

Descriptions of the responsibilities of each committee position are available here. As well as completing their duties, committee members are expected to participate in 4 committee meetings per year (this can be in person or via Skype), and to help judge the annual HOTCUS prizes.

Travel expenses are paid for the Postgraduate Secretaries and the Early Career Secretary, but not for the other committee members.

HOTCUS is dedicated to fostering a culture of inclusion and equality in our organizational structure. We seek to develop an intellectual and organizational environment built on the premise of equity in terms of gender, age, race, sexuality, disability, career stage, and employment status.

If you have any questions about the nomination and election process, please contact Tom Tunstall Allcock at the address above.